9 Hat Project – 4 out of 9 hats finished, and I’ll teach you how to make them


I’ve got 4 hats finished, 3 done on the Knifty Knitter 36 peg loom and one done on the Boye 31 peg loom. I’m doing pretty good! I’ll show a pic of each and a short tutorial underneath it. I’ve got 5 to go, ones already on the loom (the second for the 31 peg loom) and I’m doing well! I might make more than nine, we’ll see. Or some gloves and socks. I’m using spare and scrap wool I found in my big container.

First, the garter stitch rainbow hat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was a simple hat to make. I used the garter stitch shortcut and made it in about an hour. I didn’t like my cast on, so I knit 4 rows and made a mini brim that you can’t really see.

Basically, the entire hat is done in the garter stitch, and you can add a brim if you like. Gather bind off, sew the top together, done. All knits are e-wrap knits, and I did it on the 36 peg loom. It can be done on any loom.

Next, the purple and gray bumpy hat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This hat is a bit more complex and requires 2 different colours of yarn or wool.

All knits are e-wrap knits and this was done on the 36 peg loom.

I did the rib stitch for the brim, which is Knit 2, Purl 2 in the round, in the first colour (the gray). This works out well on the 36 peg loom, but if you’re using a loom with odd numbers, just knit or purl the last stitch. Whichever you prefer.

So, I did an e-wrap cast on and did the rib stitch (k2 p2) until I thought it was big enough.

Then I changed colour, and knit (e-wrap) one row so the colour change isn’t as noticable.

Then I purled 5 rows, and switched back to the first colour.

I knit 6 rows, in e-wrap, and then changed colour.

Go back and forth between colours, knitting 1 row and purling 5 for the second colour (which creates the bumps) and end on the first colour, knit 6, and gather bind off. You’re done!

Now for the diamond lace stitch hat done on the 36 peg loom. All knits are e-wrap knits and you can use any size round loom. I always knit my hats in the round.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The colour is off in these photos, its a gray blue. It’s not as gray as the first one, and its not as blue as the second one.

Cast on in e-wrap and purl a row.

Then do the rib stitch (k2, p2 in the round) for as large as you want the brim to be.

The repeat for the pattern is knit one row, figure 8 stitch the next row, end on a knit row, and gather bind off.

The fourth hat is the first on the 31 peg loom, and has a pom-pom. It can also be made on any size loom.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t have a pic of me modelling it because its too small.

Knit about 12-14 rows and then fold the yarn up and make a brim.

Knit one row

Purl one row

Figure 8 stitch one row.

Repeat the knit, purl and figure 8 until it’s at the size you want it to be, and gather bind off and sew, add a pom pom if you’d like, and you’re done!

So those are my first four hats. Enjoy, and go knit!

Leave a comment