What’s on my loom – Leafy Sea Dragon Scarf and a Lace Shawlette


I’ve been knitting the past few days, working on two projects. Get bored of one, work on the other, back and forth.

I found the Leafy sea Dragon scarf on Ravelry by a suggestion of a knitting loom group member. She recommended the pattern, and I had it on my harddrive, had never started it. Thought I needed a different style of wool, but it actually knits up quite nicely on the yarn I’m using – Value brand I got at Michael’s for $3.99 a skein. It’s about 3 feet long now. The yarn is pictured, and it was taken without a flash. I used about half a skein I had left and am working on finishing it with the 1/3 of the other skein I had.  I love this pattern! I’m going to keep going until I run out of yarn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leafy Sea Dragon Scarf

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

This is my other project, using a piece of the All n’ One loom. Parts of that loom got lost when I moved, and I can’t find everything to put it together, so I’m using just a side with 48 pegs. I’m making progress. It will be a simple shawlette (not using a pattern) or “baktus”, which is a triangular scarf done in garter stitch. The yarn I’m using is lace weight, so the 3/8″ pegs on the part of my poor All n’ One loom make decent sized stitches. That picture doesn’t even touch how nice the yarn is. I’m closed to being increased to 48 pegs, then I start decreasing.

My pattern is:

Cast on 3 pegs from left to right in any way you please. I used crochet.

Row 1: Slip stitch, purl to last peg, half stitch

Row 2: Slip stitch, knit to last peg, half stitch

Row 3: slip stitch, purl to last peg, half stitch

Row 4: Slip stitch, knit t last peg, increase by one (wrap the empty peg next to the last peg twice and knit over)

Repeat.

Simple eh? I can’t wait to see it finished. The yarn is gorgeous, yellows, oranges, reds and browns.

Leave a comment